Faux Porky Pho

Homemade Faux Porky Pho

Any mention of “Pho” and my mouth waters. I mean serious droolage. I dubbed this “pho” faux because I veered from the traditional ingredients and pho making method and also because Faux is the incorrect pronunciation of Pho. The correct pronunciation sounds like “fuh.”  “Porky” made it to the title because I used multiple versions of porky goodness. Many thanks to James and Sus who smoked two pork butts for a housewarming party recently; I am definitely a butt girl. I have raved about these in my Bacon Wasabi  Slaw post previously so I will spare you a second emphatic accolade – though these fine specimen’s of God’s Meat deserve at least a second mention.

If you were actually making pho at home, you would likely have more ingredients and a longer cooking time. Because I was using up stuff that I had made previously, I did not need to roast bones, simmer meat, and infuse broth with the flavors of onion and other ingredients so my cooking time was much less. I  used shredded pork butt  as my meat versus meatball or shaved beef. I used some non-traditional toppings, including  Bacon Wasabi Slaw in place of bean sprouts. The broth was a combination of homemade chicken stock, pork juice and jelly, and some purchased Beef Pho base (Pacific Kitchen brand) along with most of the traditional pho seasonings (I left out fennel because I did not have any and added turmeric because it is good for you). I also subbed soba noodles for rice vermicelli to eliminate soaking them. Fauxness aside, this homemade pho was faux-king DELICIOUS. The broth was rich with intriguing depth and layers of flavor. It managed to satiate the perpetual pho craving I cannot seem to kick.  Seriously, there should be pho rehab.  I imagine this soup would be the gateway drug….and I am a full-blown addict.

As with most everything I make, I have no idea how much of what I threw in, so operate on the usual “guestimate” theory and adjust spices according to your personal preferences. Oh, and I am drooling.

Faux Porky Pho

Serves 2-3, with leftovers

Two Cups Chicken Stock (homemade preferably)
Two Cups Beef Pho Base (substitute chicken or beef stock and add more seasoning)
Half-Cup Pork Jelly (or the gelatin of some other earthly animal)
Juice from half a lime
Two cups pulled pork butt
One tablespoon crushed red pepper
One tablespoon fish sauce
Two to Three tablespoons Hoisin sauce
A good pinch cane sugar
Three tablespoons minced ginger
Sriracha to taste
Five cloves
Half-Tablespoon ground coriander
One cinnamon stick
Two to three star anise pods, whole
One cardamom pod
Half-Tablespoon ground turmeric
Buckwheat Soba Noodles, cooked to package instructions

Toppings
Bacon Wasabi Slaw
Thinly Sliced Jalapeno
Chopped Green Onion
Thinly sliced radishes
Fresh Cilantro, roughly chopped
Lime wedges
Extra Hoisin, Sriracha, and Fish sauce for serving

Combine pork juice, jelly, stock, pho base in a large stock. Bring to a simmer and add the ginger, crushed red pepper, sugar, fish sauce, hoisin, coriander, cardamom, cloves, cinnamon, star anise and turmeric. Let simmer for 30 minutes to an hour and then add the pulled pork. Meanwhile, cook the noodles according to instructions and then add them to the broth. Squeeze in the lime juice and adjust seasoning according to taste. Serve with suggested toppings.

Leave a comment